Winners never quit. Quitters never win.

Published March 19, 2012 by snoopsistas

Someone posted this on their Facebook page and initially, I skipped it. But as I scrolled through the other posts, I kept thinking about that statement: Winners never quit. Quitters never win.  Am I a quitter? For years, and I’m not talking a few measly years, but YEARS, my twin sister and I have tried our hand at writing everything from children’s stories to poetry to screenplays. We’ve tried to get published but have always been turned down. The last major award I won for writing was when I was in 6th grade! The prize: a jar of jellybeans. To me, that was major.

At any rate, we quit trying about five years ago so that we could dedicate time to taking care of our ailing mother and her mother, Grandma. We seriously didn’t write ANYTHING unless you count the occasional grocery store list. We quit seeking help from the major publishers and left literary agents alone. All of our energy was focused on the people we loved and cared about most. But we were quitters as far as writing was concerned.

The last three years have been a blur, losing Grandma first. Then my brother, two days before mom’s birthday. Five months later, the ultimate: losing mom. That has been the hardest thing we’ve ever had to face, losing THE most important person in our lives. So when I scrolled back up to that statement, I kept staring at it and it gave me a charge, a renewed sense of self. I am a writer! And maybe I haven’t been picked up by the big publishers or had one of my screenplays made into a movie or even sold a million eBooks. I still feel like a winner.

Leave a Reply

